Group Management is one of the core tasks of Alliance Auth. Many of Alliance Auth’s services allow for synchronising of group membership, allowing you to grant permissions or roles in services to access certain aspects of them.
User Organized Groups¶
Administrators can create custom groups for users to join. Examples might be groups like
When you create a
Group additional settings are available beyond the normal Django group model. The admin page looks like this:
Here you have several options:
Users cannot see, join or request to join this group. This is primarily used for Auth’s internally managed groups, though can be useful if you want to prevent users from managing their membership of this group themselves. This option will override the Hidden, Open and Public options when enabled.
By default, every new group created will be an internal group.
When a group is toggled open, users who request to join the group will be immediately added to the group.
If the group is not open, their request will have to be approved manually by someone with the group management role, or a group leader of that group.
Group is accessible to any registered user, even when they do not have permission to join regular groups.
The key difference is that the group is completely unmanaged by Auth. Once a member joins they will not be removed unless they leave manually, you remove them manually, or their account is deliberately set inactive or deleted.
Most people won’t have a use for public groups, though it can be useful if you wish to allow public access to some services. You can grant service permissions on a public group to allow this behavior.
In order to join a group other than a public group, the permission
Can request non-public groups in the admin panel) must be active on their account, either via a group or directly applied to their User account.
When a user loses this permission, they will be removed from all groups except Public groups.
By default, the
groupmanagement.request_groups permission is applied to the
Member group. In most instances this, and perhaps adding it to the
Blue group, should be all that is ever needed. It is unsupported and NOT advisable to apply this permission to a public group. See #697 for more information.